Client:Florida A&M University
Location :Tallahassee, FL
Budget :$17,272,997
Architect :Clemons Rutherford & Associates
Completion :September 2010

Florida A & M University Tucker Hall & Charles Winter Wood Theatre

Tucker Hall is surrounded by a diverse representation of architectural styles and is a part of a National Historic District. The project consisted of renovations to the existing Tucker Hall Building and attached Charles Winter Wood Theatre, a 77,536 GSF four-story concrete beam and column structure with a brick and cast stone exterior that was constructed in 1956 with minor renovations in 1977. The building housed the following areas of the College of Arts and Sciences: office of the Dean, Economics, History/Political Science, Languages, and Literature. The scope of the renovation included but was not limited to: restoration of the building’s envelope including a complete roof replacement, as well as replacement of the building’s plumbing, mechanical, and electrical systems. Additional updates performed as a part of the renovation included, structural systems upgrades, life safety upgrades, technology upgrades, and remodeling of all offices, classrooms, and support spaces. The project was also address known ADA issues within the building circulation utilizing an exterior plaza in front of Tucker Hall, as well as a plaza off Charles Winter Wood Theatre to provide access to the street level.

The Theatre received new seating, acoustic treatment, A/V & lighting systems, catwalks, rigging, flooring including replacement of the stage floor and trap door system.

The atrium and entry lobby were expanded by removing the second floor slab thus creating a two-story lobby and entry into the Theatre. The lobby is a focal point of the facility with refined finishes and a glass roof system to allow more natural light into the area.

Finally, due to limitations of the existing elevator, the elevator hoistway was enlarged to accommodate an elevator that meets current ADA codes and Emergency Management requirements.

safety, award